2021 IAEA-PPPL Workshop: Theory and Simulation of Disruptions

Poster are listed at the bottom of this page

All Times EDT


8:30-9:00         Welcome and Logistics: A. Bhattacharjee (PPPL)

Session I: ITER, Other Experiments and Fusion ReactorsChair: A. Bhattacharjee (PPPL)

09:00-09:40     The ITER Disruption Mitigation System—Design Progress and Design Validation: M. Lehnen (ITER) (Video)

09:40-10:20     Runaway Electron Beam Suppression Using Impurity Flushing and Large Magnetohydrodynamic Instabilities: C. Reux (CEA/JET) (Video)

10:20-10:50     Measurements and Modeling of Pre-Thermal Quench Non-Thermal Electron Formation During Pellet Injection Shutdowns in DIII-D: E. Hollmann (UCSD) (Video)

10:50-11:10     Break

11:10-11:50     Complete Prevention of Runaway Electron Beam Formation with a Passive 3D Coil in SPARC: R. Tinguely (MIT) (Video)

11:50-12:30     Prospects for Disruption Handling in a Commercial Tokamak Fusion Reactor: N. Eidietis (GA) (Video)

12:30-01:30     Discussion on Session I


Session II: Simulation and Modeling CapabilitiesChair: M. Lehnen (ITER)

08:30-09:10    Complete 3D MHD Simulations of ITER Post-Thermal Quench Plasms with Realistic Lundquist Numbers: F. J. Artola (MPI, Garching) (Video)

09:10-09:40     MHD Modeling of SPI Injection in JET: J. McClenaghan (GA) (Video)

09:40-10:10     Dispersive Shell Pellet Modeling and Comparison with Experimental Trends: V. Izzo (Fiat Lux) (Video)

10:10-10:50     Simulations of Disruption Mitigation in ITER with Staggered Shattered Pellet Injection: O. Vallhagen (Chalmers University of Technology) (Video)

10:50-11:10     Break

11:10-11:40     Simulation Study of Pellets and SPI Fragments Ablated by Thermal and Runaway Electrons: R. Samulyak (Stony Brook University) (Video)

11:40-12:10     Non-Equilibrium Impurity Treatment for JOREK Disruption Mitigation Simulations: D. Hu (Beihang University) (Video)

12:10-12:40     Findings from a Benchmark Study of 3D Vertical Displacement with JOREK, M3D-Cand NIMROD: C. Sovinec (University of Wisconsin-Madison) (Video)

12:40-01:40     Discussion on Session II


Session III: Runaway Electron MitigationChairG. Pautasso (MPI, Garching)

08:30-09:10     Access and Extrapolation of Runaway Electron Mitigation via D2 injection and Large MHD: C. Paz-Soldan (Columbia University) (Video)             

09:10-09:40     Overview of Latest Runaway Electron Experiments and Analysis at COMPASS: O. Ficker (IPP, CAS) (Video)   

09:40-10:20    The Role of Impurity Transport and Temperature in MGI Induced Runaway Dynamics: O. Linder (MPI, Garching) (Video)   

10:20-10:40     Break  

10:40-11:10     Results on Last FTU Campaign on Runaway Electron Mitigation: D. Carnevale (Universita da Roma) (Video)   

11:10-11:40     Experimental Measurements of Shattered Pellet Injection Fragment Plume Parameters: T. Gebhart (ORNL) (Video)   

11:40-12:40     Poster Session

12:40-01:40     Discussion on Session III

Some poster will be posted the day of poster session

Radiofrequency emission by runaway electrons in FTU: P. Buratti (ENEA)

Edge-Localized Mode Detection and Correlation with Rotating MHD Modes for Disruption Event Characterization and Forecasting: J. Butt (Columbia University)

Benchmarking Nonlinear, Extended-Magnetohydrodynamic Modeling of Disruption Mitigation: B. Lyons (GA)

Early Internal Detection of MHD by Faraday-Effect Polarimetry in High-qmin DIII-D Plasmas and Correlation with Ideal-Wall Beta Limit: M. D. Pandya (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

On Disruption Prediction and the Relative Cost of Disruptions: M. Parsons (The Pennsylvania State University)

Resistive Wall Mode Stability Forecasting in NSTX through Balanced Random Forests and Counterfactual Explanations: A. Piccione (University College London)

Offline Torque Balance Analysis of Rotating MHD for Real-Time Application: J. Riquezes (Columbia University)

Collisionless Plasma Transport Mechanisms in Open Stochastic Magnetic Field Lines Associated with Thermal Quench: M.-G. Yoo (PPPL)

Scenario Adaptive Disruption Prediction Study for Next Generation Burning Plasma Tokamaks: J. Zhu (MIT)