Posters will be posted on July 16th

Radiofrequency emission by runaway electrons in FTU: P. Buratti (ENEA)

Edge-Localized Mode Detection and Correlation with Rotating MHD Modes for Disruption Event Characterization and Forecasting: J. Butt (Columbia University)

Benchmarking Nonlinear, Extended-Magnetohydrodynamic Modeling of Disruption Mitigation: B. Lyons (GA)

Early Internal Detection of MHD by Faraday-Effect Polarimetry in High-qmin DIII-D Plasmas and Correlation with Ideal-Wall Beta Limit: M. D. Pandya (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

On Disruption Prediction and the Relative Cost of Disruptions: M. Parsons (The Pennsylvania State University)

Resistive Wall Mode Stability Forecasting in NSTX through Balanced Random Forests and Counterfactual Explanations: A. Piccione (University College London)

Offline Torque Balance Analysis of Rotating MHD for Real-Time Application: J. Riquezes (Columbia University)

Collisionless Plasma Transport Mechanisms in Open Stochastic Magnetic Field Lines Associated with Thermal Quench: M.-G. Yoo (PPPL)

Scenario Adaptive Disruption Prediction Study for Next Generation Burning Plasma Tokamaks: J. Zhu (MIT)

Posted in Uncategorized

2021 Agenda

8:30-9:00 Welcome and Logistics: A. Bhattacharjee (PPPL)
Session I: ITER, Other Experiments and Fusion Reactors
Chair: A. Bhattacharjee (PPPL)

09:00-09:40 The ITER Disruption Mitigation System—Design Progress and Design Validation: M. Lehnen (ITER)

09:40-10:20 Runaway Electron Beam Suppression Using Impurity Flushing and Large Magnetohydrodynamic Instabilities: C. Reux (CEA/JET)

10:20-10:50 Measurements and Modeling of Pre-Thermal Quench Non-Thermal
Electron Formation During Pellet Injection Shutdowns in DIII-D:
E. Hollmann (GA)

10:50-11:10 Break

11:10-11:50 Complete Prevention of Runaway Electron Beam Formation with a Passive 3D Coil in SPARC: R. Tinguely (MIT)

11:50-12:30 Prospects for Disruption Handling in a Commercial Tokamak Fusion Reactor: N. Eidietis (GA)

12:30-01:30 Discussion on Session I

Session II: Simulation and Modeling Capabilities
Chair: M. Lehnen

08:30-09:10 Complete 3D MHD Simulations of ITER Post-Thermal Quench Plasms with Realistic Lundquist Numbers: F. J. Artola (MPI, Garching)

09:10-09:40 Benchmarking Nonlinear, Extended-Magnetohydrodynamic Modeling of Disruption Mitigation: B. Lyons (GA)

09:40-10:10 Dispersive Shell Pellet Modeling and Comparison with Experimental Trends: V. Izzo (Fiat Lux)

10:10-10:50 Simulations of Disruption Mitigation in ITER with Staggered Shattered
Pellet Injection: O. Vallhagen (Chalmers University of Technology)

10:50-11:10 Break

11:10-11:40 Simulation Study of Pellets and SPI Fragments Ablated by Thermal and Runaway Electrons: R. Samulyak (Stony Brook University)

11:40-12:10 Non-Equilibrium Impurity Treatment for JOREK Disruption Mitigation Simulations: D. Hu (Beihang University)

12:10-12:40 Findings from a Benchmark Study of 3D Vertical Displacement with
JOREK, M3D-C 1 and NIMROD: C. Sovinec (University of Wisconsin- Madison)

12:40-01:40 Discussion on Session II

Session III: Runaway Electron Mitigation
Chair: G. Pautasso (MPI, Garching)

08:30-09:10 Access and Extrapolation of Runaway Electron Mitigation via D2
injection and Large MHD: C. Paz-Soldan (Columbia University)

09:10-09:40 Overview of Latest Runaway Electron Experiments and Analysis at COMPASS: O. Ficker (IPP, CAS)

09:40-10:20 The Role of Impurity Transport and Temperature in MGI Induced

Runaway Dynamics: O. Linder (MPI, Garching)

10:20-10:40 Break
10:40-11:10 Results on Last FTU Campaign on Runaway Electron Mitigation: D. Carnevale (Universita da Roma)

11:10-11:40 Experimental Measurements of Shattered Pellet Injection Fragment Plume Parameters: T. Gebhart (ORNL)

11:40-12:40 Poster Session

12:40-01:40 Discussion on Session III

Session IV: Disruption Physics
Chair: C. Sovinec

08:30-09:10 Difficulty of Plasma Steering and Constraints from the Greenwald Limit: A. Boozer (Columbia University)

09:10-09:40 Thermal Quench in ITER Locked Mode Disruptions: H. Strauss (HRS Fusion)

09:40-10:20 New Observations of Magnetic Island Flux Tunneling, Heteroclinic
Bifurcation and Seeding by Nonlinear Three-Wave Coupling: L. Bardoczi (GA)

10:20-10:50 Optimum RF Stabilization of NTMs in Large Tokamaks: R. Nies (PPPL)

10:50-11:10 Break

11:10-11:50 Fast Wave Excited by Runaway Electrons in Disruptive Plasma: C. Liu (PPPL)

11:50-12:20 Alpha Particle Driven Alfvenic Instabilities in ITER Post-Disruption Plasmas: A. Lier (MPI, Garching)

12:20-12:50 Simulation of Plateau Formation During Current Quench and MHD Instabilities with Runaway Electrons: C. Zhao (PPPL)

12:50-01:50 Discussion on Session IV

Posted in Uncategorized

Invited Speakers

  • J. Artola (IPP Garching) 
  • L. Bardoczi (GA) 
  • A. Boozer (Columbia) 
  • G. Dong (Princeton) 
  • N. Eidietis (GA) 
  • M. Lehnen (ITER) 
  • O. Linder (IPP Garching) 
  • C. Liu (PPPL) 
  • C. Paz-Soldan (Columbia) 
  • C. Rea (MIT)
  • C. Reux (JET) 
  • A. Tinguely (MIT) 
  • O. Vallhagen (Chalmers)
Posted in Uncategorized

Program Committee

  • M. Barbarino, IAEA
  • A. Bhattacharjee, PPPL (Chair)
  • N. Eidietis, GA
  • M. Lehnen, IAEA
  • G. Pautasso, MPI-Garching
  • C. Rea, MIT
Posted in Uncategorized

Program Committee

2021 Program Committee Members

  • M. Barbarino, IAEA
  • A. Bhattacharjee, PPPL (Chair)
  • N. Eidietis, GA
  • M. Lehnen, IAEA
  • G. Pautasso, MPI-Garching
  • C. Rea, MIT
Posted in Uncategorized